My breakthrough: Running Suicides.

In this article I’d like to write about something most people dislike. At my school, people hate it at it’s best, groan before it even starts, and have an expression of disgust and hatred-puffing and panting, with scrunched up eyes and extreme fatigue on their faces. Yup, it’s running suicides, this basketball American drill that get players to increase their speed and agility on the court.

Have you ever run a suicide drill before? At the basketball court, you basically stand at the base line, run to the first free throw and back, centre and back, next free throw and back, end of the court and back. It’s a sprint, so you race as fast as you can. On a regular basketball team, the average is 30 seconds. Before starting, your pupils contract, your muscles tense up, your fingers get fidgety, and when you finally start, that’s it. You just put in all you got. And although it’s kind of obvious, there are various things in the form I haven’t got yet. Do you keep your knees high or leaning forward? What do you do with your arms? Either ways, i didn’t care about my speed. My biggest fear is being left behind while the other players sprinted fast ahead.

The way I figured, there are two groups. One is the four of five badass guys, growing up in the Japanese city, having skiing, ice skated, basketball and football pros, the champion at all sports. They sprint at the speed of light. Then there are the more realistic people who give it what they’ve got, putting in their effort while sprinting. I really need to improve my sprinting speed. So whenever I get to the gym, I run these excruciating suicides. At least 3 or 4. Finishing suicide drills are the most relieving and satisfying feelings ever. I have this new level of fatigue and pain, I can’t breath, but it feels like life. It feels like escaping death by a matter of a nanosecond. And the pain I feel turning around at each free throw line is painful for sure, but totally worth it any day for the feeling of intense accomplishment I get afterwards. When I get back to India, people go, “Oh gosh Abha, you’ve lost even more weight! How do you get thinner each time?” I owe most of it to running. And break neck suicides are the best it gets.

If you’re as confused as a polar bear in a desert, as upset as a three year old hungry child or as depressed as a failed IB student, run a series of suicides. You’ll feel better afterwards.

 

 

One Comment Add yours

  1. Renuka says:

    Back when I was in SSSO (My UK Secondary School), we used to have this traditional fitness ‘beep test’. On my test, I got out on about the 6th or 7th beep (LOL), but that was a good average – half the people got out before and half the people afterwards. In a beep test, you have to run between two points in time for a beep to resound (beep must sound AFTER you have reached the opposite end of the court). If at any beep (and the speed at which the beeps sound will increase), the beep sound goes off before you reach the other end, you’re out. I’ve never done running suicides, but I do remember PT classes in Harishree on the ‘fitness troop’ – in 8th grade – everyone got so fit that we all did like 50 push ups, 50 frog jumps and 50 crunches! And no one got cramps afterwards, either. It was like our peak of fitness. I hope to try running suicides some day. It must be difficult if people who run as much as you do find it hard! But what makes it so different from all the running you do all the time? I simply can’t understand how a person who does an hour of basket ball a day, runs every morning and exercises like a pro can find the suicides so different. What makes this particular run so special and difficult?! I checked it on youtube, and it seemed like a pretty normal fitness test…Not denying it’s difficult or anything, I just wanted to know if I missed some detail as to what makes it out of the ordinary.

    Like

Leave a Reply

